Uncategorized

Mint Sweatshirt dress

IMG_0847

A few weeks ago, my mom, Nana, sister and I took a trip to Yosemite. It was my first time to visit in the Spring. The forecast was a heavy rain/snow storm. We had the big dramatic grey clouds and fog, but only sprinkles. It made for some beautiful photos. I had no me made clothing for #MeMadeMay that was suitable for a trip to Yosemite so I whipped  a few things up right before we left. Since we were staying in a hotel, not tent camping and with my Nana, so no strenuous hikes, I made a few cute, casual, warm/good for layering items. I love a good 11 mile rt hike up Glacier Point, bathing in the river and sleeping in a tent, but flat walks, staying clean, and cute clothes in Yosemite was a nice treat too 😉

IMG_0862 My mom had given me an Issac Mizrahi for Target sweatshirt dress years ago that is perfect for work and colder days. I’ve been wanting to recreate for quite awhile and when I found this mint thin sweatshirt material at Michael Levine’s (for $3!! a yard!!), I got it for this dress. I laid the dress out as a rough pattern, but lengthened the sleeves and hemline, and lowered the back. I also skipped the pocket. Not on purpose, but it was an oddly constructed pocket (a large kangaroo pocket that started at the bust seam and went from side seam to side seam with the pocket under the fabric to create no bulk) and I didn’t cut my fabric properly to account for it. I have plenty of the fabric left, so I may try to deconstruct it to add the pocket.IMG_0694 IMG_0697
IMG_0699 IMG_0701 IMG_0702 IMG_0808 IMG_0809 IMG_0841 IMG_0843 IMG_0845 IMG_0846

Standard

Leave a Reply

