Uncategorized

Cali Embroidered Sweatshirt

CA stitched sweatshirt

sitting in a giant fallen Sequoia in the Mariposa Grove

I’ve been itching to make another embroidered sweatshirt after the one I made last summer. After seeing bears and the poppy fields and teaching art lessons that have to do with California, I am on quite the kick for my home state. So, a few months ago, a bear filled with poppies popped in my head as my next project. After stitching the bear, I decided that poppies on the inside might be a bit tough, so they went behind the bear. I drew the design at home, started stitching it on the drive up to Yosemite, and finished at the Ahwahnee hotel while sipping a tequila hot chocolate. I also sewed a 125th anniversary of Yosemite NP on the sleeve.

I quite love it! But I think it is time to start finding other things to embroider seeing as I’m not much of a sweatshirt person.

IMG_1041

a close up- it’s not easy to get a good photo of sweatshirt embroidery

Alaska 2014 DSLR (575)

a brown bear from my bear flight in Alaska last summer- the Alaskan brown bear is most similar to the extinct Californian grizzly

IMG_9971

California golden poppies- taken in March at the Antelope Valley Poppy Fields

IMG_2243

stitching in the car

Yosemite (137)

and stitching at the Ahwahnee

Standard

2 thoughts on “Cali Embroidered Sweatshirt

Leave a Reply

