Uncategorized

California Wildflowers Easter Eggs

typhoontessie.com CA wildflower Easter eggs

Brittany from The House That Lars Built posted the most beautiful botanical Easter egg DIY last week. I fell in love and instantly wanted to recreate them, but balked because I hate painting Easter eggs a solid color (they’re round so they fall over and get nicks or finger prints, you have the wait for the paint dry, etc). The black seemed necessary though- it made them so gorgeously bold. At a Michael’s run for work the other day, I found 2 cartons of 1/2 price black chalkboard eggs and it was a sign that I needed to make them. Last year, I found a gorgeous vintage book (written in the 20s, mine was printed in the 50s) with images of painted wildflowers of the Pacific coast, as well as information about each flower. I looked through it to find flowers that grow in my beloved state and painted a few on the eggs. I absolutely love them!

IMG_1145

buttercup

Buttercup

typhoontessie.com CA wildflower Easter eggs

California Poppy (my favorite flower)

Wind Poppy

Wind Poppy

Purple Violet

Purple Violet

Baby Blue Eyes

Baby Blue Eyes

Milkwort

Milkwort

typhoontessie.com CA wildflower Easter eggs

Happy almost Easter!!

Standard

Leave a Reply

