april rhodes, fabric, handmade, pattern, popover poncho, sew, sewing

Popover poncho



I love capes and the Popover Poncho was such a cute, casual cape design. I waited to buy the pattern until I found a fabric I loved. It’s a poly cotton blend that is thick and double sided (black with white designs on one side and white with black designs on the other side). My nana and I drove up to Michael Levines in LA to fabric shop and I couldn’t turn down the mint sweatshirt knit that I found for $3 a yard. The poncho pattern is single sided, but I figured out how to make it reversible. I’m really happy with it, except I wish I had used a black 1/2 inch binding instead of the 1 inch mint. I think it would have only taken an afternoon, if my machine didn’t keep jamming and if I didn’t make it reversible. I think that my machine needs a tune up, but the thickness of the fabric with the reversible design probably didn’t help. I’d like to make another one with a more colorful fabric and maybe fleeceline on the inside to make it super cozy. Slits on either side of the pocket would be good too, so that I didn’t have to lift the cape up to my hands in the pocket. Though since this is double sided, I can hide my hands in the inside pocket too- sneaky!


image-08-03-15-10-09

Photo location: our front yard
PatternPopover Poncho
Fabric: Gypsyland Jacquard from Joann. I can’t find it online, but I just bought it last Friday in the store. It also comes in teal and black and a similiar multi colored.  Mint sweatshirt knit from Michael Levine 
Alterations: made it reversible! Sewed a pocket on each side. Finished the neck edge with a double rolled over hem. Sewed the bottom edge of the cowl closed about half an inch up (with the cut edge rolled in) and then attached it to neck edge like a sandwich. I also used the sweatshirt knit for both pieces of the cowl to save up the jacquard for another project. I think I have enough left for a pencil skirt. 
Outfit deets: earrings and bracelet- Forever 21, old; velvet leggings: Target
 
Standard

Leave a Reply

