bridal shower, friends, stars

love and stars- a bridal shower, part 1

 
My friend from high school is getting married next month and a friend and I threw a shower for her over the weekend (I know! shock! It’s been less than 6 months and I’m already blogging about it!). Anyway, I always think of blue and silver and stars when I think of my friend, so that seemed like natural inspiration.
 
The invite was quite fun. We had a few people tell us that they were going to keep it. We used vellum envelopes, printed on the computer as if it was a postcard and filled with star confetti. The idea came from here.
 
 

 

 a sign for the bride to be’s chair
pretty bride!

 
 

the centerpieces were stars cut from felt, spray painted silver and sprinkled with silver glitter.We filled large Mexican glasses with white rice and small candle votives wrapped in blue paper with long white star stickers. My friend and her dad punched all of the star confetti and was sprinkled across the tables with plastic diamonds.

 
 

 

 
 
 

star centerpieces

 

 



I got all of these champagne glasses at Ikea at an after Christmas one day sale- 6 glasses for 99 cents! I spray painted small wooden stars blue and wrote every one’s names with a silver Sharpie and added a mini rhinestone to each. My friend’s dad was wonderfully helpful and drilled all of the holes for me. We tied them onto the stems and had cute little name tags.



 
the bride’s got a diamond ring attached to it

 

 

sign of the bride and groom’s names: I wrote their names in tiny stars and we tied tinsel between each letter to add a little flash. This was my inspiration. I love how it turned out.

 

The mantel was lined with wooden frames sprayed painted silver with a star related love quote on each and few drawn on blue stars.

 

 

 

 

 


We did two activities- one where the guests wrote an acrostic poem with the bride and groom’s names and one where the guests wrote date ideas on a popsicle stick. We’re all not game people, so these were good activities that people could choose to do but did not have to participate in.



 


the bride and the party planners





friends since 9th grade (or earlier).

 


and one close up of the dress that I made for the party. I’ll do a post about it in a few weeks.

 
 

Standard

One thought on “love and stars- a bridal shower, part 1

Leave a Reply

