Uncategorized

Halloween: Frida

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Frida_Kahlo_(self_portrait).jpg

So, I’ve been decorating for Christmas all morning but I finally am making time to blog about Halloween. (Which was, only less than one month ago. I still haven’t blogged about my cousin’s bridal shower that occurred 5 months ago, but someday I’ll get there). I’m dividing this into two parts, because I want to get a few more pics of J’s robot costume. So, I’ll just focus on my costume here. I have wanted to be Frida Kahlo for Halloween for many years now. I had never appreciated her art until I saw the movie, Frida. It changed my view of her art. Loving Mexican pop art also helped, since she is so iconic and so well represented. If you haven’t seen the movie, I highly suggest it.


Anyway, I considered being Frida this year, but I wanted to find a great skirt to complete the outfit. David and I stopped by Frock You a few weeks before Halloween and in the cheap section outside, I found a flowy, long, floral skirt, a la Frida. I went to Target to find big, dangly earrings and a chunky, geometric styled necklace. I already owned a loose black blouse and a black scarf. I youtubed a Frida hairstyle, which is essentially two pigtails braided with ribbon and wrapped around the top of your head. I got a plain headband, floral wire, floral tape, and fake flowers that matched the colors of my skirt from the dollar store and turned all of that into a Frida floral headpiece. The finishing touch- very light makeup with red lips and of course, the eyebrows. The eyebrows were actually the hardest part. I had to buy three eyebrow pencils (on top of the one that I already owned), before I found one that was dark enough and actually stayed on my skin. I drew in a very faint mustache as well. I also printed out a picture of one of her self portraits to pretend like it was my canvas and I made a palette out of cardboard.
I was super pleased with the costume. I got a lot of compliments and even a few strangers shouted, “Frida, can I take your picture?”



“I used to think I was the strangest person in the world but then I thought there are so many people in the world, there must be someone just like me who feels bizarre and flawed in the same ways I do. I would imagine her, and imagine that she must be out there thinking of me too. Well, I hope that if you are out there and read this and know that, yes, it’s true I’m here, and I’m just as strange as you.”
Frida Kahlo

Standard

One thought on “Halloween: Frida

Leave a Reply

