dia de los muertos, friends, halloween

Dia de los muertos

 So, these pics were taken LAST November, but Day of the Dead (Dia de los Muertos) is coming up again soon, so they can be inspiration for this year! In short, the Aztecs had a holiday celebrating their loved ones who had passed. When the Spaniards brought over Christianity, the Aztec holiday was mixed with the Catholic holidays of All Saints Day and All Souls Day on the 1st and 2nd of November. The result was Dia de los Muertos, when some Mexicans head to the cemeteries to celebrate the lives of loved ones and bring them their favorite foods. People often shy away from it at first glance (all the skulls), but it is really a beautiful celebration.

Anyway, for DoD, my friend and I painted half of our faces like a calavera (sugar skull) and then went to Maria Maria for dinner with our husbands (yea for married double dates!). We used cheap Party City face makeup, which I do NOT recommend. Cheap stuff for the colors probably would have been fine, but the white smudged too easily. It did make it come off really easily on the end- I just had to wipe with a tissue to get the bulk of it off. I also glued flat rhinestones to my face with eyelash glue, but I’ve been known to use clear nail polish in the past. It works just fine and doesn’t irritate my very sensitive skin. I like the look of half a painted face, but next year I want to add more flowers and maybe a black veil down the back. Fun, fun, fun.

posing with my dad’s guitar

the entertainment was in costume

an ofrenda for Amy Winehouse

a pretty wall at Maria Maria

and a painted dancer




and Pan de Muerto and calveras (bread of the dead and sugar skulls) as decorations

This was a super fun event and the food was good. I would love to go again this year, but apparently Maria Maria shut down in SD :(. Old Town also has events, I’m not sure why I didn’t go last year. But I’ll be there this year!!

 
Standard

Leave a Reply

