food

A salad for those non-salad types

I feel like I get in a salad rut. I either make Greek salads (feta, kalamata olives, bell peppers, onion, cucumbers) or a berry chicken salad (chicken, raspberries and strawberries). I made an amazing salad a while back that was not the healthiest, but it was protein packed and delish! David also loved it. Fried polenta is my new thing because it is like a wheat free crouton (except this was back when I was wheat free. I think I’m over it because it’s not helping enough. Polenta is still a great treat in salads). Sprouts sells an Italian seasoned one and it is so delicious- it’s the only polenta that I will buy.

Polenta- pre fried

curled bacon- I like my bacon super crispy so after baking it around the chicken tenders, David slipped off the bacon and put it in a pan to cook longer.

*Wrap chicken tenders in bacon and bake at 350 until chicken is done
*Slice one avocado
*Fry polenta- cut tube polenta into slices less then an inch thick and then quarter, fry in 1/4-1/2 inch of olive oil until well browned and crispy (if you take it out to quickly, the inside will still be soft and they’ll get mushy before your salad is even done).
*homemade dressing- shake olive oil, balsamic vinegar, powdered garlic and Italian seasoning salt

Standard

One thought on “A salad for those non-salad types

Leave a Reply

