Uncategorized

(vegan) ice cream!

Now that the summer weather has sadly been cooling, I’ve been in a super ice cream mood. Doesn’t make much sense. Maybe I should attribute it to the weekend in Vegas for my cousin’s bachelorette party. I spent the two nights before the party up late making things for the party (more to come on that later) and then spent a night at her house and two nights in Vegas. Though laying at the pool all day and dancing all night are delightful, I don’t do well with little bits of sleep. After being knocked out the whole next day after we returned, I am now in a productive mood. If you can call making ice cream productive (but I have spent the whole day organizing my sewing room and eating the ice cream while having an Extreme Makeover Weight loss Edition marathon- oxymoron, yes). Anyway, I made some bomb-diggity ice cream and the recipes must be shared. I LOVE making homemade ice cream. It takes a fair amount of prep time, but it is relatively easy, doesn’t have any of the nasty additives of most ice creams and you can make just about any flavor.


Boozy (or not) Vegan Chewy Caramel Ice Cream



The first one I made almost directly from this one. Since becoming “vegan” (you know, the kind that loves meat), I have been distraught over the lack of caramel. I’ve got baked goods, fried foods, ice cream and even pizza down, but caramel has been eluding me. While this is still no where near as delightful as butter and cream filled caramel, it is the best that I have found thus far. You mix one can of full fat coconut milk (Thai Kitchen is my favorite brand) with one cup of brown sugar and bring to a boil at medium-high heat. Then continue to cook and mix on medium heat for about 30 minutes. At this point, the caramel could be stored as an ice cream topping or cupcake filling or out-of-the-jar-treat, etc, etc. If you actually want ice cream, then turn the heat off and stir in a second can of full fat coconut milk. Put into the fridge until very cold (I actually put it in the freezer the sides of the jar were freezing and then put into the ice cream maker and make according to the ice cream maker’s directions. Though it is not dairy free, I threw in two tablespoons of Bailey’s Irish Cream because I have it in my fridge and I am trying to use it up. I think that it also helps it to not harden as much in the freezer because of the alcohol content. Whisky, Kahlua, Rum and Godiva liqueur would probably also be a great addition. This seriously was some of the most amazing ice cream I have ever eaten (with or without the Bailey’s). I highly suggest it. Oh yes, the originally recipe calls for 6 eggs, but I just omitted them and they were not at all necessary.





Making the caramel- cooking for 30 minutes. This was about 10 minutes in.

pouring the finished ice cream mixture into mason jars to cool down.

finished in the ice cream maker



Baileys caramel ice cream

Spiced Coffee Honey Ice Cream


I also wanted coffee ice cream. I can buy dairy, nut and soy free ice cream made from coconut milk, but our Sprouts only sells 3 flavors- chocolate, mint chip and cookie dough. They are all great, but those flavors get boring, not to mention that they are $6 a pint, so I will only buy them if they are on a super great sale. I am guessing that it is about half the price to make it from scratch and I have so many more flavor choices. Anyway, I should have known that this recipe called for far too much instant coffee. It was incredibly bitter. I had already doubled the recipe (that is SIX TABLESPOONS of instant coffee to only 2 cans of coconut milk. Though it really is too much for my ice cream maker, I threw in a third can of coconut milk to cut the bitterness. The originally recipe is sweetened with honey (not vegan, but you can replace it with agave or white/brown sugar boiled into the coconut milk). The honey reminded me of honey coffee that I had in Malaysia or Singapore over our honeymoon. It was delightful, so I looked up a recipe for honey coffee. This recipe says that honey coffee is like a Spanish latte and had cinnamon and nutmeg. The cinnamon made me think of Mexican hot chocolate so I decided to throw in a bit of cayenne as well. This certainly was not the plain coffee ice cream that I was looking for, but it is a fun and different flavor. It would probably make great ice cream sandwiches between chocolate chocolate chip cookies.

Spiced Honey Vegan Coffee Ice Cream

Here is my recipe:

2 cans full fat coconut milk
1/4 cup honey (replace with agave if you are vegan)
1/4 cup brown sugar
4 tablespoon instant coffee
1/4 tsp cayenne
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp vanilla

Mix all ingredients except vanilla in a saucepan on medium heat until all are dissolved and well Incorporated. Taste. I used 5 tablespoons of instant coffee, but I felt that it was too bitter. I also double or tripled the amount of cayenne and cinnamon because I wanted mine spicier. If you don’t like spice at all, you can omit the cayenne. Also add/subtract the sugar as you see fit. (see isn’t making ice cream great- it tastes just the way you want it to taste!).
Freeze until very cold but not frozen and then make according to the directions of your ice cream maker.

Enjoy!

*Notes on coconut milk. You can use lite, but the ice cream won’t be as thick and supposedly is icy after freezing it. If you are going to eat ice cream, it should taste could. Also, I like Thai Kitchen. A Taste of Thai is very thin, even the full fat can. I have not tried it to make ice cream but it failed at making vegan chocolate frosting.

This is what a can of frozen coconut milk looks like. The coconut milk separates from the coconut water. You can cut off the coconut milk if you want it thicker, but this isn’t necessary (and could cut your coconut milk content in half).



Another way to get rid of the coconut water (if you want). The milk freezes faster than the water and floats to the top. You can push the milk down with a knife and the coconut milk will spill out.



Standard

Leave a Reply

