DIY, family, flowers, wedding

Wedding DIY! Part 5: Bouquets & Boutonnieres

Our flowers were another one of my favorite handmade items from our wedding. I think that I mentioned this in the paper flower post, but I never dreamed of my wedding. I just knew that I wanted a lot of colors and my mom to do the arrangements. My mom was worried about the pressure of doing my bouquet, but I had faith in her and thankfully talked her into it. My bouquet was stunning and exactly what I wanted! She had help from my nana and two of my aunts and David’s mom. Together, they made my bouquet, my bridesmaid’s, the toss bouquet and all of the boutonnieres. My mom also made little centerpieces for the cocktail hour that were all used the night before for our rehearsal dinner centerpieces. The flowers came from the Carlsbad wholesale market and the succulents came from my aunt’s garden.

centerpieces packed up



waiting to be arranged- I love the orange roses!

 

colors to match the girls’ bridesmaid dresses

my aunt and nana

my nana and mom

David’s mom pulling the petals for the flower girl basket

boutonnieres

boutonniere with our rings- two days after the wedding and still looking excellent

twine ribbon, pearl pins and a pretty milagro from Artelexia

finished! my handmade bouquet. Photo by Vanessa Ha

all of the bouquets. Photo by Vanessa Ha

my mom, sister and I. photo by Vanessa Ha
this should have been up with the loose flowers- all of the gorgeous succulents from my aunt’s garden.
bouquet and boutonniere. Photo by Vanessa Ha.

the cake by Twiggs. We had it very simple decorated to draw attention to the succulents. My mom and the baker from Twiggs decorated it together with the succulents from my aunt’s garden. I highly suggest Twiggs. The cake tasting experience was informative, relaxing and delicious. Dan clearly enjoys his job and my mom said he was great to work with when decorating. And they are affordable (relative to the cost of wedding cakes).
Standard

Leave a Reply

